Prof. Palpu Pushpangadan is currently the Director General of Amity Institute for Herbal & Biotech Products Development (AIHBPD) and has over 40 years of experience as a multidisciplinary scientist carrying out original research in Cytogenetics & Plant Breeding, Biotechnology, Molecular Taxonomy, Biosynthesis of secondary metabolites, Ethnobiology, Ethnopharmacology, Bioprospecting and Natural product development etc. He has published over 400 original research papers in national and international journals and proceedings, authored and edited several books.

Prof. Pushpangadan has served as Director, National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI); Director, Tropical Botanic Garden & Research Institute (TBGRI). He also had held additional charges as Director of Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB) and Central Institute for Medicinal & Aromatic Plants (CIMAP).

He has more than 150 patents granted in the US, European, French, German, Canadian, Indian and Japanese patent offices. Sixteen of his patented products are now commercially produced and globally marketed. Dr. Pushpangadan brought a unique distinction to India as the first in developing a benefit-sharing model that implemented the Article 8(j) of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD).

Prof. Pushpangadan served/serving as consultant to WHO, DANIDA, UNESCO, UNDP, UNEP and NAM S&T Centre for developing countries and UN-CBD. Prof. Pushpangadan functioned as team leader of many official scientific delegations on behalf of Government of India / CSIR to sign bilateral agreements on S&T collaboration to present country papers on subjects like Biodiversity, Biotechnology, Herbal Technology, Traditional Medicine and Medicinal & Aromatic Plants, CBD, WTO and on Benefit sharing.

Prof. Pushpangadan has been appointed as the official expert for Ministry of Environment & Forest, GOI and Ministry of Commerce, GOI on matters related CBD, WTO, IPR and Traditional Knowledge.

Prof. Pushpangadan has received many national and international medals/awards including the prestigious UNEP Borlaug Award in 1998 and the UN-Equator Initiative Award-2002 at World Summit at Johannesburg, South Africa in September 2002. He is a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (FNAASc) and also Fellow of several other Scientific Bodies in India. He is the President of National Society of Ethnopharmacology. He also served as the President of the International Society of Ethnopharmacology, International Society of Environmental Botanist.